Maharaja's Express - The Heritage of India

Duration : 07 Nights / 08 Days

Destinations Covered : Mumbai – Ajanta – Udaipur – Jodhpur – Bikaner – Jaipur – Sawai Madhopur – Agra - Delhi

Day 01 (Sat) : Mumbai

Report at Taj Mahal Palace Hotel and get transferred to Chatrapati Shivaji Terminus Railway Station. Board Maharajas Express as the train chugs off towards Ajanta. Dinner and overnight stay aboard

Day 02 (Sun) : Aurangabad - Udaipur

Breakfast on board, as the train stations at Ajanta. Leave for sightseeing session of Ajanta Caves. These 29 rock-cut caves are datable to as far as 2nd century. The caves are together a UNESCO World Heritage Site, reminding us of ancient Buddhist traditional art. Later return to Maharajas Express for lunch and relax. The train leaves for Udaipur at 1345 hours. Dinner and overnight stay onboard.

Day 03 (Mon) : Udaipur - Jodhpur

Breakfast on board. On arriving Udaipur, proceed for boat ride on Lake Pichola and visit to City Palace and Crystal gallery.

Udaipur, the City of Lakes, is a pride of Rajasthan. City Palace is one of its star attractions, dating back to 1559 when it was commissioned. The splendor of this fort makes it a popular attraction of Udaipur.

Have your lunch at Sarkar Hall of Fateh Prakash Palace/ Jagmandir Palace. After this, you have a choice of returning to the luxury train/ spa rejuvenation in a 5 star hotel/private shopping tour. If time permits you may also choose to witness Sound and Light Show. Dinner and overnight stay onboard.

Day 04 (Tue) : Jodhpur - Bikaner

Breakfast on board. Today, you can spend the morning at leisure/ go for a heritage walk in Bisnoi Village which is an open-air exhibition of rural culture of Rajasthan state of India/ spa rejuvenation in a 5 star hotel.

Return to the train for lunch and then leave for Mehrangarh Fort, followed by a leisure walk around Old Clock Tower. Other options are spa rejuvenation in a five-star hotel/ visit to Umaid Bhawan Palace Museum and Jaswant Thada/ private shopping tour.

Later, proceed for a royal cocktail dinner followed by fireworks and cultural dance performance in Hanwant Mahal. Return to your luxury train and stay overnight.

Day 05 (Wed) : Bikaner - Jaipur

Breakfast on board. Today, you can opt to relax on the train or visit Lallgarh Museum or Deshnok Temple.

Return to the luxury train for lunch and then proceed to Junagarh Fort. This is one of Junagarh’s most popular attraction, built somewhere between 1589 and 1594. Details of the fort’s interior are worth mentioning too. Over the area of 5.28 hectares, temples, palaces and pavilions are dotted evenly.

After this, leave for Sundowners at the Sand Dunes. While on your way, relax at Gajner palace for hi-tea. Return to the train and stay overnight.

Day 06 (Thu) : Jaipur – Sawai Madhopur

Breakfast on boar. Arrive Jaipur- the capital or Rajasthan, also known as the Pink City. Freshen up and proceed to visit Amer Fort (a magnificent fort and a UNESCO World Heritage Site), after which you visit City Palace/Jal Mahal where you can indulge in elephant activities such as riding, feeding or even painting these adorable creatures.

In the afternoon, relax and have lunch. You then have options of returning to the train/ rejuvenating in a spa at Palace Hotel/ shopping/ golfing at Ranbagh Golf Club/ visiting City Palace and Jantar Mantar. Dinner is to be served onboard.

Day 07 (Fri) : Sawai Madhopur - Agra

Breakfast on board. Later leave for an enthralling game drive at Ranthambore National Park. This is one of the largest and most popular national parks of India, let alone Rajasthan; especially known for its population of tigers.

Later, return to the train and relax, as it now leaves for Fatehpur Sikri. Lunch is served onboard.

Fatehpur Sikri is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, a historic city embellished by the great Mughal ruler, Akbar. Once you are done exploring Fatehpur Sikri, return to Maharajas Express. Savor “Indian Evening” and have your dinner and overnight.

Day 08 (Sat) : Agra & Delhi

Breakfast on board. Later prepare to visit the 7th Wonder of the World (also a UNESCO World Heritage Site, Taj Mahal. This white-marble mausoleum took about 22 years to get fully constructed. True love of Shah Jahan and her beloved wife (for which it was built) is reflected in different corners of this edifice.

Champagne breakfast at Taj Khema and return to Maharajas Express. Now the train chugs off towards Delhi. Lunch is served onboard. Upon arrival in Delhi, disembark from the train.

Schedule for Season 2016 - 2017 - 2018

OCTOBER, 2016 22
NOVEMBER, 2016 19
DECEMBER, 2016 17
JANUARY, 2017 14
FABRUARY, 2017 11
MARCH, 2017 11
APRIL, 2017 8
OCTOBER, 2017 7
NOVEMBER, 2017 4
DECEMBER, 2017 2, 30
JANUARY, 2018 27
FABRUARY, 2018 24
MARCH, 2018 24

Tariff for Season 2016 - 2017

USD 5,160
Deluxe Cabin
USD 6,840
Deluxe Cabin
USD 3,420
Deluxe Cabin
USD 8,910
Junior Suite
USD 9,890
Junior Suite
USD 4,950
Junior Suite
USD 13,800
USD 13,800
USD 6,900
USD 23,700
Presidential Suite
USD 23,700
Presidential Suite
USD 11,900
Presidential Suite

The tariff of the Maharajas’ Express includes accommodation, meals, beverages (light drinks, tea, coffee, and mineral water), Indian wines (in house brands), butler service, and porter-age at stations, guided tours and entrance fees at monuments. The tariff however does not include taxes, insurances, alcoholic beverages, telephone calls, laundry, and fees of video and professional cameras.

Terms & Conditions :
  • The above cost is based on per person
  • The above cost does not include 9% Government Service Tax and is charged extra.
  • Prices are subject to change in case of any amendment in the routing or any other hikes such as fuel, taxes etc.
  • Children below 5 years of age can travel for free.
Booking :
  • 60 days or more prior to departure, 25% of published price.
  • 45 to 59 days prior to departure, 50% of the net amount.
  • 0 to 44 days prior to departure, 100% of the net amount.
Special Notes :
  • Name with details required at the time of booking except as provided. Name change is allowed up to 30 days prior to departure.
  • Only one date change may be permitted up to 30 days prior to departure subject to availability. No refund in case of difference of tariff. The difference of tariff to be paid in case of higher tariff for the scheduled departure.
  • Either name change or date change will be allowed not both as stated above.
Cancellation :
  • 90 days or more prior to departure date, 25% of the published rate
  • 89-60 days prior to departure date, 50% of the published rate
  • 59-0 days prior to departure date, 100% of the published rate
  • 100% cancellation for no show

Maharaja's Express (ME) Tour Packages

Maharaja Express Train

Treasures of India

03 Nights / 04 Days

Delhi – Agra – Sawai Madhopur – Jaipur - Delhi

Maharaja Express

Gems of India

03 Nights / 04 Days

New Delhi – Agra – Sawai Madhopur – Jaipur- New Delhi

Maharaja Express Train

The Indian Splendour

07 Nights / 08 Days

Delhi – Agra – Sawai Madhpur – Jaipur – Bikaner – Jodhpur – Udaipur – Balasinor – Mumbai

Maharaja's Express

The Heritage of India

07 Nights / 08 Days

Mumbai – Ajanta – Udaipur – Jodhpur – Bikaner – Jaipur – Sawai Madhopur – Agra - Delhi

Maharaja's Express Train

The Indian Panorama

07 Nights / 08 Days

New Delhi – Jaipur – Sawai Madhpur – Agra – Gwalior – Orchha – Khajuraho – Varanasi – Lucknow